The first of many

My story

I haven’t lived long but the past 17 years of my life have shown and taught me incredible things. To most people the opinion of a 17 year old may not matter which is why i am pleased to announce i am turning 18 in 4 months ,in which i guess makes me old enough to talk about and explore life.

So less than 7 weeks ago i had thought that my life was over ,that i would not make something of myself and make my dreams come true. I had failed my grade 12 examinations , like everyone else i was looking forward to going out and discover the world using my own rules away from common spectators. Unfortunately i had not given it my best and people soon were raving about ,had to say a lot but had no hand in my journey but had a lot to say about it “she was playing”, ” she deserves it” , “she thinks she’s better than everyone” .

Like every rumor they had reached my ears and something miraculous had happened that day , i thought to myself that even if i confront the whistle blowers what would i gain. I had reached a decision that i would improve myself ,make myself proud because this is my life and if i don’t make it now i would never make it.

The message i am trying to share with you today is that you are limitless ,your success will and can not be measured by a couple of single digits and a piece of paper. If anyone or anything is getting you down ,do not cry ,do not be angry , do not drown yourself in sorrow because it will not slow anyone else down but yourself.

Hunny get up and do things for yourself , your academic intellect may not be one that is considered right in a learning environment but you and i ,we have something that makes us feel alive and fulfilled. Take me for example i am a Leftie (left handed person) and according to statistics i should be 25% better at academics ,arts and using both sides of my brain. I say to that i am an individual ,who chooses creativity over academic. I am not going to give on the challenge before me but am going to push till i get it right , i am going to own my mistakes just as i celebrate my victories.

We all live 15 minutes in our time zones, whether you get that degree at age 21 or age 31 ,perhaps you buy your house at 28 or be it 58. It does not matter when you reach your goal but it is about how you reach it because it’s the journey that builds you.

I recently read the words of Eloise Ristad which stated “when we give ourselves a permission to fail,we,at the same time, give ourselves permission to excel”.

Today you choose what you will give yourself permission to do, but remember we can only find perfection in our imperfections.

By:Tee Makhedama

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Kopano Mtsweni says:

    I am so proud of you, you have physically, emotionally and psychologically…. I wish you all the best babe

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Reading this makes me happy because I’ve been down a similar path when it comes to intellect being judged and what not.
    It’s not the easiest thing to mentally or emotionally deal with, especially in a world that requires intellect for survival.
    I’m glad you shared this and congratulations for making it out stronger and and gaining inspiration from what happened.
    Always remain focused.

    Like

    1. teemakhedama says:

      It’s always good to know that I am not alone and that there are many other young men and women who have went through the same situation as I have and seeing them holding their heads high inspires me to do the same because what doesn’t kill you only makes you stronger and I am on my journey of strength and am embracing it.

      Like

Leave a comment